Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry

Dr.Jackson Cherutoi

Head Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry




 The Department of Chemistry offers a four-year Bachelor of Science degree programme in Chemistry. Chemistry is such a broad discipline, spanning many areas of the physical and biological sciences. With a strong commitment to undergraduate teaching, the department’s interests spans all major areas of chemistry such as analytical, inorganic, organic and physical chemistry. In addition to the undergraduate programme, the department also offers postgraduate degree programmes at MSc and PhD levels in various areas of chemistry. The Department participates in the Africa Centre of Excellence – ACE II PTRE a World Bank Funded Project through offering of programmes in MSc and PhD Analytical Chemistry. Students admitted in the two postgraduate programmes are drawn from Kenya and also from the region; thus there are students from countries such as Sudan, Uganda and Malawi.


The objectives of the programme are to:

  1. Produce professional chemists for industry, teaching and research.
  2. Provide laboratory procedures needed to work in various research fields like agriculture, biochemistry, medicine, etc.
  3. Enable students to handle analytical equipment.
  4. Train teachers of Chemistry for the education sector of the country.
  5. Stimulate scientific curiosity and advance frontiers of knowledge in the area of chemical sciences. Help the student in using ideas, concepts, and skills acquired in learning Chemistry in order to        solve scientific problems.
  6. Prepare graduates to venture into chemical entrepreneurship and marketing.
  7.  Produce skilled manpower of well–trained chemists capable of taking up positions in various socio-economic sectors.

Programmes Offerd

  • Bridging Courses(Chemistry)
  • Bachelor of Science in Chemistry
  • Bachelor of Science in Biochemistry
  • Master of Philosophy in Analytical Chemistry
  •  Master of Philosophy (Organic Chemistry)
  •  Master of Philosophy (Organic Chemistry)
  •  Master of Philosophy (Physical Chemistry)
  •  Doctor of Philosophy in Analytical Chemistry
  •  Doctor of Philosophy in Inorganic Chemistry
  •  Doctor of Philosophy in Organic Chemistry
  • Doctor of Philosophy in Physical Chemistry


Teaching Staff



Prof. Ambrose Kipchumba Kiprop

Associate Professor

Dr. Jackson K. Cherutoi

Lecturer (H.O.D)

Ms. Norah C. Mutai

Assistant Lecturer

Zacchaeus Kipkorir Rotich


Dr. sarah Chepkwony Assistant Lecturer
Dr. Violah J. Kosgei Graduate Assistant
 Mr. John Isemeki

 Tutorial Fellow


Non Teaching Staff

NAME                                DESIGNATION
Ms. Florence Opondo Lab Technician
Mr. Paul Kipkorir Lab Technician
Ms. Irene Jeptepkeny Lab Assistant

Ms Joyce Ngetich


Joseph Too

Office assistant
Designed by Moi University ICT Department